This article describes the different ways to configure conflict management for your application.
The design of the system is oriented around collaboration. Rather than locking an item to one user at a time, the system enables multiple users to access a single item at the same time.
When two users change a single item simultaneously, the resulting behavior depends on how the application is configured.
The actual result depends on the "When users work on this property at the same time, report conflicts" setting on the definition of property A. Four options are available:
Let's examine the following sequence of actions:
When John saves his item, there are two possible results: John's changes replace Mary's changes, or the system can report a conflict informing John that someone else changed A and asking if he wants the value of A to be 77 or 99.
If 'When a change is made by other user' is selected and Mary did not change A but rather changed B (and B has the same conflict setting), and John changes A but not B, then a conflict is reported when John saves his changes because Mary changed B.
If 'When changed to a different value only' is selected and Mary had changed A to the same value as John (99), then there would be no conflict reported: A would simply be changed to 99.
The option 'When a change is made by other user' is often used for forms where a user uses a value to make decisions about what they change. A good example is a loan application, where the applicant's credit score has a large effect on how a user changes a form - the credit score property should use this setting.
Based on the desired resulting behaviour for the application, select the most appropriate option for "When users work on this property at the same time, report conflicts".
The option 'When a change is made by other user' has two important limitations:
You need to sign in before voting.